Silver Surfer / X O Surf

Silver Surfer / X O Surf

‘Silver Surfer’, ‘X O Surf’ and the ‘X O Surf remixes’, big tunes from the dance floors of 1993, rereleased via Violent Drum Recordings on September 4 2020.

Artist: The Deep

Genre: House

Label: Violent Drum

Release date:

The Deep, was the alias Matt Frost and Pete Diggens recorded under from 1993-1996.

Frost and Diggens released a stream of vinyl on own imprint Violent Drum and finished when Matt and Pete were discovered by Andrew Weatherall at Sabresonic which led them to sign to Leftfield’s Hard Hands label in 1997 as Dark Globe.

‘Silver Surfer’, ‘X O Surf’ and the ‘X O Surf remixes’ were created over a series of weekends in ’93. When you listen to the record you can hear Frost and Diggens try to create the sound of waves amongst the beats, they were also influenced by tracks like Pink Floyd’s 20-minute epic ‘Echoes’.

Pete Diggens: “With Silver Surfer, the idea was to create a dance floor tribute to our favourite childhood Marvel super hero. We decided to create a suite of epic tracks on the surfing theme, Silver Surfer involved us bringing in an African friend who was a talented percussionist to play conga’s. He came along with his Brazilian girlfriend and we asked her to record some vocals whilst she was in the studio.”

Violent Drum’s output connected with dance music lovers worldwide, tracks made it onto compilation albums, featured in the charts and sets of the top DJ’s from all over the world. DJ’s such as Colin Dale, Ninja Tune’s Matt Black, Joey Beltram, Billy Nasty, Fabio Paras, Leftfield, Dave Angel, Darren Emerson, Carl Cox, DJ Three, Sasha & Digweed, Terry Farley and the man everyone looked to at the time, Mr. Andrew Weatherall regularly played Violent Drum vinyl.

Original vinyl copies can still be found on the second-hand market, for a hefty price. The duo regularly receive requests from fans around the world to find spare vinyl copies of ‘Silver Surfer’, ‘X O Surf’ (featured on an R&S compilation), ‘Your Nemesis’ and ‘Mondo Scuro’ (cited by many as the first ever ‘Breaks’ record pioneering the genre). Unfortunately, stocks of these ran out years ago and current labels regularly request to re-issue the tracks.

About the artist

The Deep, was the alias Matt Frost and Pete Diggens recorded under from 1993-1996.

Regular price£7.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • Low stock - 1 item left
  • Inventory on the way

This Vinyl product is a:

  • Limited Edition
  • Coloured Vinyl

Recently viewed