Blues and The Soulful Truth

Blues and The Soulful Truth

Released in 1972, Blues And The Soulful Truth featured an expansive all-star band

Artist: Leon Thomas

Genre: Soul

Label: BGP

Release date:

The title of Thomas’s third album for Bob Thiele’s Flying Dutchman referenced Oliver Nelson’s classic 1961 LP The Blues and the Abstract Truth. Includes Pretty Purdie (drums), Stanley Clarke (bass), Cecil Payne (Baritone sax) and the unsung Neal Creque (keyboards).  It’s a soul meets jazz meets the blues masterpiece with arrangements from ex James Brown horn-man Pee Wee Ellis. This astounding album features the extraordinary ‘Shape Your Mind To Die’ ‘L.O.V.E’ a captivating vocal version of Gabor Szabo’s Gypsy Queen, the compelling ‘Love Each Other’, the plaintive ‘China Doll’ and a driving version of John Lee Hooker’s Boom-Boom-Boom. Pressed on 180gm vinyl we have remained faithful to the original pressing replicating the Flying Dutchman label style and gatefold sleeve. 


About the artist

Amos Leon Thomas Jr. (October 4, 1937 – May 8, 1999), known professionally as Leon Thomas, was an American jazz and blues vocalist, born in East St. Louis, Illinois, and known for his bellowing glottal-stop style of free jazz singing in the late 1960s and 1970s.

Regular price£23.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way

This Vinyl product is a:

  • Standard Pressing

Recently viewed